The Shortest and Longest-Serving Presidents in Indian History

The office of the President of India is one of the highest constitutional positions in the country. Since gaining independence in 1947, India has seen a diverse range of individuals hold the prestigious position of President. If you search for the “President of India list with photo,” you can find a comprehensive record of all the individuals who have held this esteemed office. This article will explore the shortest and longest-serving Presidents in Indian history, shedding light on their contributions and impact on the nation.

Shortest-Serving Presidents

Zakir Husain (1967)

Zakir Husain, the third President of India, had the shortest tenure in the history of the office. He served from May 13, 1967, until his untimely death on May 3, 1969. His presidency was tragically cut short by his sudden demise. Zakir Husain was known for his contributions to education and was the first Muslim to hold the position of President in India.

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974)

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed held the position of the fifth President of India. His presidency began on August 24, 1974, and ended abruptly with his passing on February 11, 1977. His tenure was marked by political turmoil, including the declaration of the Emergency by then-Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in 1975.

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1977)

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy held the office of the sixth President of India. His term started on July 25, 1977, and concluded on July 25, 1982. While he served a full term, his tenure is often cited among the shortest-serving Presidents due to its five-year duration.

Longest-Serving Presidents

Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962)

Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, holds the distinction of being the longest-serving President in the country’s history. He served for two consecutive terms, from January 26, 1950, when India adopted its Constitution, until May 13, 1962. During his presidency, he provided steady and stable leadership during the formative years of the Indian Republic.

Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1962-1967)

Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan succeeded Dr. Rajendra Prasad as the second President of India. He served from May 13, 1962, to May 13, 1967. Dr. Radhakrishnan was a renowned philosopher and scholar and brought his intellectual prowess to the presidency, promoting education and cultural exchanges.

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (2002-2007)

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, widely known as the “People’s President,” served as the 11th President of India. His term began on July 25, 2002, and continued until July 25, 2007. Dr. Kalam, a scientist and visionary, left an indelible mark on the presidency through his focus on science, technology, and education.

Contributions and Impact

โ— Zakir Husain, despite his short tenure, contributed to the field of education and worked towards fostering a sense of unity and brotherhood among diverse communities.
โ— Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, during his brief term, had to grapple with the challenges of the Emergency period, a tumultuous phase in Indian politics.
โ— Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, though serving a full term, is often remembered for his role in the political developments of his era, including the post-emergency transition.
โ— Dr. Rajendra Prasad’s long and distinguished presidency set the precedent for the office and provided a steady hand during India’s early years as a republic.
โ— Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan’s intellectual leadership brought a philosophical dimension to the presidency and elevated the discourse on education and culture.
โ— Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam’s presidency was marked by his vision for India’s technological and scientific advancement, inspiring generations of young Indians.


The President of India list with photo serves as a visual representation of the nation’s leaders and their contributions. The Presidents of India, whether serving for a short or extended period, have all made valuable contributions to the nation. Their tenures reflect the rich tapestry of India’s political, social, and cultural history. The office of the President remains a symbol of continuity and stability in the world’s largest democracy.

Leave a Comment